Spoon River College held their 61st Commencement on May 12 at the Multi-Purpose Building on the Canton Campus. Approximately 140 students participated in the service, and several students and two faculty members were recognized for their achievements during the event.

Students Emma Gilliland (transfer student from Macomb), Henry Modiva (career and technical education student from Rushville), and Allison Mortland (transfer student from Canton), were recognized for being named to the Phi Theta Kappa All-Illinois Academic Team after being nominated to the All-USA Academic Team.

Recognized for academic excellence were Phi Theta Kappa members who have maintained a perfect 4.0 GPA while at Spoon River College. Those students were Clay Beekman, Emma Gilliland, Brandon McGraw, Sydney Munson, Anna O’Brien, Collin Shelts, Grace Stufflebeam, Claire Wheelwright, and Tory Wickman.

Zoey Lane, 2022-2023 Student Trustee, announced the recipients of the Student Achievement awards, given each year to one transfer student and one career and technical education student who possess individual initiative, personal development, and have made progress toward achievement of goals, along with participation and success in college extra-curricular activities.

Transfer student Matthew Schaad of Havana and career and technical student Daniel Hammond of Macomb were this year’s recipients of the Student Achievement Awards.

Following the student awards, President Oldfield recognized faculty members for teaching excellence.

Bridget Loftus (Chemistry) was this year’s nominee for the Illinois Community College Trustee Association Full-Time Faculty Award, and Dr. Win Htwe (Physical Science), was the recipient of the H. Truman Standard Award.

Dean Clary (Computer Information Systems) was the ICCTA nominee for Outstanding Part-time Faculty Award.

Matthew Schaadn
Matthew Schaad
Daniel Hammond
Bridget Loftus
Sha Lyn Photography Bridget Loftus
Dr. Win Htwe
Dr. Win Htwe