Every year Spoon River College honors three current faculty members (two full-time, one part-time) who have displayed excellence in the teaching profession by awarding them with the H. Truman Standard Award, and the Illinois Community College Trustees Association Outstanding Full-Time and Part-Time awards.

All citizens of the college district, including current and former students, are encouraged to submit a nomination for the teacher they feel deserves special recognition. The nominations will then be used to select the recipients.

The nominations must be received by February 24, 2023, and any nominations received after the deadline will be applied to the following year’s nomination pool.

Faculty members may only be given the H. Truman Standard Award once in a seven-year period. Faculty who are not eligible this year are Laura Bandy, Dr. Win Htwe, Dr. Andrew Kirk, Becky Leverette, and Sarah Strode. However, these faculty may still be nominated and considered for the ICCTA Outstanding Faculty Award.

The names of eligible full-time faculty and the nomination forms are available by clicking on the Faculty Award link located under the Academics tab at www.src.edu.

The awards will be presented during the college’s commencement, which is currently planned for May 11, 2023.