Five Spoon River College students in the Diesel and Power Systems Technology (DPST) program were awarded scholarships following a round of interviews with program faculty and members of the Diesel Advisory Board.

Advisory Board member Sam Brooks presented the awards to the following students: Connor McCabe (Cashion, OK), Harold Dare Scholarship; Andrew Rairden (Keokuk, IA), Phi Mu Tau Scholarship; Kyle Rhoades (Good Hope, IL), Brian Telander Scholarship; Caleb Rogers (Payson, IL), Ed Kaiser Scholarship; and Kyle Wise (Farmington, IL), Coachman Motor Club Scholarship.

The two-year DPST program is one of the college’s longest-running career and technical education programs, offering education and training in the field of diesel power technology and its related applications, that culminates in an associate in applied science degree. In 2019, the College also became a certified training center for the railway industry through a partnership with NARS (National Academy of Railroad Science) and Johnson County Community College. Certificates are offered in Locomotive Mechanical, Preventive Maintenance, and Rail Transportation and Power System Technology. Instructors in the program are Todd Thompson, Joe Clemens, Aaron Mayall, and Dave Andersen.

For more information about the program, visit

image of 5 students in the Diesel and Power Systems Technology Program who received scholarships.