Man of La Mancha Cast and Crew Announced

More than 40 cast and crew members will “dream the impossible dream” when they present the Tony Award-winning musical MAN OF LA MANCHA in the Spoon River College Theatre in Taylor Hall, July 12 – 14.  Tickets are now on sale to the general public at $12 and may be purchased by calling 647-6260.  Seating is limited and advanced purchases are encouraged.

The show is being produced by the SRC Community Chorus and Many Lights Theatre with Carol Davis directing.  Tony Roberts serves as musical director.  Richard Etter and Michelle Murphy are choreographing the show.  The technical director is Jim Florea with set design and construction by Sue and Jim Lafary.

Man of La Mancha was last produced in Fulton County by the Playhouse in 1973.  The current production is celebrating the Fulton County Playhouse’s 50th anniversary.  Several of those participating in the 2013 production were involved in the show 40 years ago.

“Even though the production cannot be staged at the Barn, we are recognizing the 50th anniversary of the Playhouse and its long history of community theatre,” said Davis.  “The SRC Community Chorus and Many Lights Theatre are “the new kids on the block” and together we celebrate live performance in our region.”

The current production Man of La Mancha features John L. Davis as Cervantes/Don Quixote, Carmen McCarthy as Aldonza, and Chad Murphy as Sancho.  Davis served as musical director in 1973.

Dave Bishop, who directed the 1973 production, will play the role of the Governor/Innkeeper.  Tony Roberts is the Padre.  Greg Mathis plays Dr. Carrasco with Jeanine Gaumer as the Niece and Tammy Weaver as the Housekeeper.

The Muleteers are portrayed by Bruce Beal, John Harmon, Aaron Haacke, Michael Harmon, Jordan Vandermeer, and Shane Gaumer.

Others featured in the show include Barbara Watson (Maria), Sara Mathis (Fermina), and Bob Juraco (The Barber).  Cameo/chorus roles are being played by Nathan Bobell, Jean Sprecher, Craig Zilly, Gordon James, Bob Champlin, Ron Rupe, Clay Klinedinst and Peggy Roberts.

Additional members of the production team are Jackie Davis (Stage Manager), Lindsey Ridenour Larson (Assistant Director); Phyllis Vandermeer (Assistant to the Director), Andrea Barbknecht and Denise Kirgan (Costumes), Robin Henry and Debi Land (Properties), Bobby McKenzie (Tech), Mary Ellen Carver (Make-up), Julie Toney (House), and Michelle Florea (Marketing).

For additional information, please call (309) 647-6260.