Spoon River College Foundation Awards 2012-13 Scholarships

The Spoon River College Foundation has awarded in excess of 115 scholarships to area students for the 2012-13 academic year at Spoon River College.  The total amount of awards, based on interest earned from Named Endowed Scholarships, special scholarship grants, and flow-through scholarships, is over $60,000.

“The Foundation believes that education is the key to a successful future,” said Foundation Chairman Jerry Cremer.  “Being able to provide scholarships so that people can realize their dreams of higher education is extremely gratifying.  Scholarships represent a principal funding focus of the SRC Foundation.  Each year since 2007, the Foundation has been fortunate to add new named endowed scholarships and we are thankful to our many donors who make this possible.”

Scholarship awards range from $250 to $1,000 and eligible applicants are matched to specific scholarships based on need, GPA, academic interest or other factors designated by the donors.  The awards may be used for tuition and fees, books, or other educational needs.

This year’s awardees include Vivian W. Ashton Memorial Scholarship, Ashley DelMastro, Canton; Danny Ball Scholarship, Austin Rhodes, Canton; Leonard & Virginia  Barnard Scholarship, Hunter Aten, Colchester; Dr. Fred C. and Leona Benson Scholarship, Kristina Bankert; Mildred and Emory Brott Memorial Scholarship, Canton-Jessica Bequeaith, Natalie Smith, Krysten Stremmel; Jared Hovey, Havana; Edward J. Bugos (Boogie) Memorial Scholarship, Nicole Beaird, Canton; Harley Davis Scholarship, Lauren Berry, Canton; Canton Elks Lodge #626, April Shaw, Canton; Canton Rotary Club/ Klingman Memorial Scholarship, Maggie Taylor, Canton; Canton Works Club Scholarship, Renee Slater, Smithfield; Dorothy Cox Memorial Scholarship, Danel Delost & Tori Ulm- Farmington; Dean & Mildred Crawford Scholarship, Heather Alig, Canton; Harold Dare Memorial Scholarship, Cody Van Orman, Canton, Nathaniel Stell- Lewistown; Gale E. DeRenzy Memorial Scholarship, Melissa Bowman, Marietta; Donald E. & Helen M. English Memorial Scholarship, Calvin Denecke, Macomb; SRC Foundation Scholarship, Canton-Mason Guerra, Cassandra Leitner, Eric Jarvis; Macomb- Joseph Howard, Sydney Doering; Kyle Kreps, Lewistown, Cyle LaFollett, Farmington; SRC Foundation Student Board of Trustee Scholarship, Craig Severine, Farmington; Tom Greenwell Memorial Scholarship, Rebeka Barker, Havana; Francis Roy Herink & Margaret C. Otto Herink Memorial Scholarship, Marshall Drinkwater, Canton; Mildred G. Hunter Scholarship, Josie Johnson & Brittany Millslagle, Rushville; Katherine Jaeger Scholarship, Timothy Jugovic, Canton; Shay Jockisch Educational Scholarship, Jessica Merrill, Canton, Alex Rosencrans, Lewistown; Edward R. Kaiser Scholarship, Brian Lashbrook, Versailles; Kiwanis Club of Canton, Matthew Pointdexter, Canton; Berniece Sprecher Kruschinsky Scholarship, Ethan Beckner, Tennessee; Carl Kruschinsky Scholarship, Danielle DeWitt, Canton; Frances G. & Dorothea B. McPheeters Scholarship, Canton-Candice Drummond, Macomb, Victoria Evans, Marisa Foremen; MidAmerica National Bank Scholarship, Robert Niebauer, Canton; Gustav A. & Elizabeth P. Miller Scholarship, Astoria-Madison Bucher, Cassie Shockency; Havana-Stacey Brown, Alexandra Howarter, Tyler Pullen, Canton, Tom Sanguedolce, Megan Dodge; Macomb-Colton Donnelly, London Mills, Sierra Abernathy, Kirstin Aten, Peggy Brown, Marjorie Gritton, Samantha Jacobson, Ma Lin, Donald Mathis; Avis A. Oliver Memorial Scholarship, Aaron Grove, Fiatt; Phi Mu Tau Scholarship, Zachary Drebes, Quincy; J. Marshall Quick & Helen Quick Scholarship, Canton-Kara Leighton, Canton; Cuba-Zachary Ross, Breanna Treadway; Red Dog Cystic Fibrosis, Tyler Crotzer, Canton; Sherman Reed Memorial Scholarship,Astoria- Aubri Shawgo, Samuel Webb; Canton-Emerald Haley, Heather Kruzan, Mahkalay Myers, Mariah Reische, Christopher Spahn, Chelsie Allard, Emma Formhals, Amy Frank, Heidi Hartline, Gregory Mathis, Christy Quigley, Kyle Wilson, Sarah Zink; Farmington-Camille Balagna; Havana-Annette Burgett, Holly Fair, Christy Fortney, Kelsey Peace, Ryne Quinones; Ipava-Deanna Hopping, Terry Seidelman; Lewistown-Jodi Grigsby, Jessica Hadsall, Christopher Henzler; Macomb-Haile Davenport, Christopher Migawa, Eugene Stanley, Keith Wash, Patrick Frederick, Matthew Norton; Rushville-Jospeh Prather; Smithfield-Jacob Johnson; Vermont-Gabriel Kendrick; Mr. & Mrs. Glen Rogers Endowment Scholarship, Canton-Emily Ellsworth, Emily Pickel, Joanne Powers, Matthew Sepich, LeeAnn Steck, Austin Tarter, Emily Zaborac; Fairview-Kaitlin Evans; Havana-Devin Smith; Ipava-Anna Seidelman; Robert Smolich Memorial Scholarship, Taylor Lock, Canton;  B.H. and Jim Taylor Scholarship, Canton-Levi Draughan, Christophe Reinmann; W. I. Taylor Memorial Scholarship, Canton-Lauren Lingle, Zachary Wallace, Brittany Warren; Lewistown-April Christensen; Topeka-Barbara Rynerson; Louise Wood Scholarship, Vanessa Coleman, Havana;

The Foundation also annually awards over $10,000 in scholarships to students in district high schools who are enrolled in Dual Credit classes.

For more information about Foundation Scholarships, please visit www.src.edu/scholarships.

To learn how to become a Named Endowed Scholarship donor, please contact Carol Davis at (309) 647-6395.