Spoon River College Board of Trustees April Meeting

Spoon River College has a new mascot.  Following a March Madness bracket style tournament conducted on the College’s facebook page, the SRC Board of Trustees was presented with a final four to choose from:  Blue Fish, Coyotes, Snappers, and Sturgeons. After getting input from their constituents, trustees voted to accept Snappers at the regular board meeting held Wednesday, April 24.

The Board also voted to accept the results of the April election, and incumbents Gayle Strode-Blodgett, Kent Schleich (both six-year terms), and Betty Taylor (two-year term) were sworn in.  Dave Maguire was elected to serve as the board chairperson and will also continue to serve as the Illinois Community College Trustee Association (ICCTA) representative with Blodgett as the alternate. Betty Taylor will serve as vice chairperson, Rusty Melhouse will serve as secretary, Brett Stoller, vice president of administrative services will continue to serve as treasurer, and Julie Hampton, executive assistant to the president, will continue her role as recording secretary.  Scott Anderson was sworn in as the new student trustee.

President Curtis Oldfield reported on the American Community College Association’s national conference that he attended in San Francisco, where a main topic of discussion was degree completion and student retention. While there, he also completed training specifically for new presidents, plus was able to connect with and gather valuable information from experienced leaders that he felt would be helpful as he and the Board create a strategic plan to move the College forward.

President Oldfield also commended the five students who attended Student Advocacy day in Springfield on Wednesday, April 17, stating that they did an excellent job of representing the College, sharing ideas for improvement, and advocating for adult education, which was the main issue of this year’s Advocacy day. Students attending were Scott Anderson, Danel Delost, Marcus Hobbs, Craig Severine, and Taylor Lock. All are members of the Student Government Association.

Student trustee Scott Anderson gave his first report to the Board regarding the many activities going on in April, including the recent Phi Theta Kappa induction, the annual livestock judging contest hosted by the agriculture department, a fundraiser in Macomb for Habitat for Humanity, and the Coffee Spoon, which coincided with the distribution of the student publication the Kaleidoscope. This is the 30th anniversary of that publication.

Missy Wilkinson, dean of student services, reported on enrollment trends, noting that while the total number of credit hours being taken was down 5% compared to this time last year, the head count was steady. She told the Board that this was because many students are taking fewer classes. Online enrollment continues to increase (up 24%), as well as dual credit enrollment (up 15%).  The biggest decline was in the 31-40 year-old population (down 10.5%), and the greatest increase was in the 50 and older population. Wilkinson cited the efforts of the Office of Community Outreach as a Plus 50 college for that increase.

Carol Davis, vice president of community outreach reported that new policies, new board members and officers, and an expanded three-year plan would be discussed and voted on at the May meeting of the SRC Foundation.

Davis also reported that following a formal request from SRC trustees Gayle Strode-Blodgett, Dave Maguire, and Linda Butler at the Foundation’s April meeting, Foundation board members unanimously supported providing a minimum of $100,000 for the multi-purpose facility, and to research and secure a consultation firm for a feasibility study regarding the remaining renovation needed for the Macomb campus. The two boards will equally share the cost of the study, which will take place during the 2013-2016 strategic planning period.

Complete minutes from board of trustee meetings are available on the Spoon River College website at www.src.edu. 

Betty Taylor, Kent Schleich, Gayle Strode-Blodgett

Outgoing student trustee Craig Severine and trustee Gayle Strode-Blodgett

New student trustee Scott Anderson and trustee Gayle Strode-Blodgett